Visayas, or the Visayan Islands, is one of the three principal geographical divisions of the Philippines, along with Luzon and Mindanao.


Visayas is located in the central part of the Philippine archipelago, it consists of many islands. The major islands which comprise Visayas are: Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, and Samar. The region may also include the provinces of Masbate, Romblon, and Palawan whose populations identify as Visayan and whose languages are more closely related to other Visayan languages than to the major languages of Luzon.

The population of this region is approximately 20 million people.

The dominant languages spoken in this region are: Hiligaynon, Cebuano, and Waray along with English and Tagalog.

The following are popular destinations in Visayas.

  • Antique
    • Mararison Island
  • Boracay Island
  • Bacolod City
  • Bohol Island
  • Cebu Island
    • Cebu City
    • Camotes Islands
  • Dumaguete
  • Guimaras Island
  • Iloilo City
  • Leyte Island
    • Kalanggaman Island
    • Sambawan Island
  • Samar Island
  • Siquijor Island