Mindanao is one of the three principal geographical divisions of the Philippines, along with Luzon and Visayas.


Mindanao is the second largest island in the Philippines. Mindanao and the smaller islands surrounding it make up the island group of the same name. Mindanao is located in the southern region of the Philippine archipelago. The Mindanao island group is grouping of islands in southern Philippines which is comprised of the Mindanao mainland, the Sulu Archipelago (consisting of the islands of Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi), and the outlying islands of Camiguin, Dinagat, Siargao, and Samal.

The population of the main island is approximately 20 million people, while the entire Mindanao island group has an estimated population of about 25 million people.

The dominant languages spoken in this region are: Cebuano, Tausug, and Hiligaynon.

The following are popular destinations in Mindanao.

  • Butuan City
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Camiguin Island
  • Cotabato City
  • Davao City
  • Dapitan City
  • Dinagat Island
  • Dipolog City
  • Illigan City
  • Mati City
  • Malamawi Island
  • Pagadian City
  • Samal Island
  • Siargao Island
  • Surigao City
  • Tawi-Tawi Island
  • Zamboanga City